Facebook Winter Challenge 2014

Last night my brother, yes he still torments me to this day, challenged me and others to the Facebook Winter Challenge 2014. Well my brother, being cra cra, went out last night, sometime around 9pm, to Lake Stevens and, along with my oldest nephew, jumped into the lake.

bryan-aiden-winter-challenge-2014[screen capture of video ... doesn't play]

I’ve seen the Challenge working its way through friends of friends of Facebook yet never bothered to search the history or what it is all about. From the videos I seen folks jump into freezing ass water then challenging friends to do the same.

Here is a Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/218190471712238/

My challenge chain traced through Facebook is: Martin Napeahi (brother’s friend) > Bryan Barnett (brother) > Toby Barnett

Evidently the Winter Challenge has weighed heavy on my mind as I had two dreams last night of doing some lake swimming. So what lake did I choose? Lake Ki. Its nearby the house and has decent shoreline just off 531.

My Winter Challenge 2014 Video

So what is the Winter Challenge?

I couldn’t find exactly where it started but here is the jist.

The Polar Bear Plunge: Where groups jump into freezing temperature water for charity. These happen all over the US and in Washington the Seattle Parks & Recreation have a page dedicated to it, though the date has already passed.

Private Cleansing Rituals: Where people or groups get into nearly freezing water to cleanse and start anew. Done before spring time, when things flower, starting anew is symbolic of what’s to come.

The goal is to feel clean and light and free of troubles. “I’ve talked to a few elders about the conflict in a ceremony being exposed,” she said. “But the benefits outweigh the negative.” [SOURCE]

The Japanese culture has one of its own. Here is a photo essay from Kashima-jingu shrine in Ibaraki Prefecture pray in the frigid waters as part of the Daikan Misogi purification ceremony.

With the Winter Challenge 2014, someone is called out by his/her friend(s) for a cold water head-under swim, here Washington we have the Puget Sound, Pacific Ocean, lakes and rivers to choose, then challenges his/her friends to repeat within a 24hr period.

All-in-all it was a fun experience despite the cold. Next year, I’ll probably have a little one do it with me and maybe a few others.

Are you going to do it or have you done it already?

Leave a Reply

