~ Me with a cup of Starbucks Gold Coast ~

G’Morning on another beautiful Saturday in the Great Northwest. I met up with my buddy Brian to cruise his stang around but an half hour into our journey is new clutch cable kinked and jammed then broke on us. Lucky for us we heading to see another friend, Rudy, at his work, West Lake Firestone, Seattle. Right when we pulled into the shop the cable snapped. Someone was looking out for us. We thought we were sc@#*&d but we found a cable at a buddies race shop in Marysville. Rudy was nice enough to run us up there and back. Take about a stroke of good luck! Brian installed the new cable in no time but our evening was cut short. It happens, Brian felt bad, but that is why they made the T-shirt, Shit Happens. I am just glad he called and asked me to hang with him. I am pretty priveldge to have a friend like him. So here to you Brian, tipping up my coffee :P. I can’t forget my pal Rudy, tipping it again 😛
 
I accepted a new job the other day but it has me a bit nervous. It’s Go Time! I have been working hard to prove to the business owner that I would like to be apart of her business and guiding it into the future. My business strategy and business management skills are going to be put the test. I sure hope I know what I am doing. Believing you can do it and actually doing are to different things. One of those requires action and that is the hardest of business dealings. 
 
I am leaving Starbucks, staff accountant Royalties dept. It so far is the best group of people I have ever had the please to work with. These accoutants were funny, enjoyable, pleasant, little different, open, honest and friendly. It broke my heart to them I am taking this other offer. I really wanted the job and I am proud to have served for them. Starbucks was rated one of Fortune’s top 100 companies to work for and now I know why. I studied their practices, process and how they get the poeple behind "coffee". It was an amazing feet what they have accomplished. I heard Jim Donald CEO, Howard Schultz Chariman of the Board, speak and what a treat for the student of business.
 
Now in my new position I am going to implement the strategies I learned in business school with the positive experience of Starbucks culture. The blend of good, solid business practices and high degree of company wide involvment will take this little company, it will be 13 w/ me, into its next phase of growth. Now here is the tricky part.
 
I have to manage that growth while implementing the pricinples. Hmmmmm…that is what makes me nervous. Like I said earlier, It’s Go Tiime!
 
I won’t start for 2 months but it set in motion and time to get my shit together and ready for my transition. Well here is to the next level, tipping my coffee.
 
Time to change topics once again. I urge everyone who has been visiting my humble space visit Brett’s blog. He is a fellow Washingtonian who has just embarked on a 3600 mile cross country bike trip. You can also find his link on my favorites spaces list. This is a journey of a life time and so far it is shapping up nicely. Go visit and wish him well.
 
And this is where I end this episode. Thanks for visiting and come back again; until we chat again this is Toby singing off…
 
PS…there will be some new photos today. I am going to the roof top of my building to take pics of the Blue Angels over Lake Washington. 🙂
Leave a Reply

